Student Leadership committee selects state reps for 2020-21

The Student Leadership committee selected the fourteen 2020-21 CHSAA State Reps on Friday from a competitive list of over fifty applicants.

The final selections, which include a diverse group of students from every corner of Colorado, each offer unique backgrounds and perspectives that stood out among their peers.

"I was impressed with the resumes of each applicant," said CHSAA assistant commissioner Justin Saylor, who oversees student leadership. "Each student had proven leadership qualities, which made narrowing the list down extremely difficult. I commend the committee for their hard work and look forward to working with this group of State Reps over the course of next school year."

The State Reps will have a daunting task ahead, trying to navigate the obstacles put forth by the COVID-19 pandemic that has currently shifted all activities and learning to virtual platforms.

Led by State Rep Advisor Trey Downey (Grand Junction Central), the group will go to work right away, planning for all Student Leadership programming for the upcoming school year.

State Reps will have a myriad of responsibilities, some of which include sitting on various CHSAA committees, assisting in the coordination of Student Leadership Summer and Fall Conferences, and being a voice for the CHSAA student body as a whole.

The final list includes six returning State Reps and eight new members, comprising of twelve seniors and two juniors.

2020-21 CHSAA State Reps

  • Nikki-Jo Albert, Del Norte
  • Walker Bargmann, Eagle Ridge Academy
  • Lily Berg, Columbine
  • Ayelina Flores, Grand Junction
  • Daisy Grado, Brush
  • Emily Hancock, Coronado
  • John Keleman, Arvada West
  • Daniel Lange, Loveland
  • Koyinsola Oyefeso-Abisoye, Rangeview
  • Jonathan Pazen, Dakota Ridge
  • Jade Pruett, Durango High School
  • Rachel Reese, Roosevelt
  • Caden Salladay, Manitou Springs
  • Camden Sharkey, Liberty