CHSAA Hall of Fame announces Class of 2019

(Ryan Casey/

31st Anniversary Class Features Jamie Carey, Katie Carter, Pete Falletta, Andrea (Melde) Hooks, Ben Montoya, Becky (Varnum) Bucolo and Scott Yates

AURORA — The Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame has announced its 31st Anniversary Hall of Fame class. It’s a seven-member group that depicts the rich history of the Association, along with providing real-life examples of what participation, coaching, leading and advocating for students can do. Each of these people has established themselves as a role model for today’s young people seeking their way to adulthood.

The CHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2019 includes four former athletes in Jamie Carey (Horizon), Katie Carter (Steamboat Springs), Andrea (Melde) Hooks (Air Academy) and Becky (Varnum) Bucolo (Cheyenne Mountain), along with track & field coach Ben Montoya (Fountain-Fort Carson) and football coach Scott Yates (Kent Denver). They will be joined by long-time coach and administrator Pete Falletta (Pueblo Centennial).

“I am continuously amazed at the accomplishments of the many nominees. The Hall of Fame’s prestige continues to be elevated by the final decision the selection committee makes to represent educational activities and athletics in our state. Kudos to the selection committee that has forwarded our largest class of women since the inception of the ceremony,” Commissioner Rhonda Blanford-Green said when announcing the class.

The CHSAA Hall of Fame selection committee is headed by Bob Marken (Buena Vista). Committee members include Glenda Bates (Prairie View), Larry Brunson (CHSAA Hall of Fame), Dick Katte (NFHS Hall of Fame), Ellie Kempfe (Prospect Ridge), Jeremy Kerns (Byers), Gerry Valerio (, David Robinson (Montezuma-Cortez), Robert Framel (Kit Carson) and Cherie Toussaint (Pueblo SD 70 Schools). The committee was joined by four student members of the CHSAA Student Council state representatives – Lily Berg (Columbine), Lucie Nguyen (Columbine), Emily Hancock (Coronado) and Rachel Reese (Roosevelt).

“The selection committee was focused on exceptional achievement, impact on the state of Colorado, community focus and character. They debated and advocated knowing that there are so many deserving of this recognition. The 31st class reflects the efforts, passion and love Colorado has for high school activities,” CHSAA Hall of Fame administrator Bert Borgmann said.

The Class of 2019 will be inducted during a ceremony on Tuesday, April 14, 2020, at the Marriott Hotel-Denver Tech Center (I‑25 and Orchard). Individual tickets may be purchased for $60 each by contacting the CHSAA. The festivities get underway at 6:30 p.m. Seating is limited.

The selection of the four student participants to the CHSAA Hall of Fame puts the total number of participants in the hall at 75. There are now 73 coaches/sponsors, 29 administrators, 17 officials and 12 significant service contributors enshrined in the CHSAA Hall of Fame that began in 1989. There are also five teams in the hall. The Hall of Fame now features 211 inductees.

Biographies of the newest additions to the hall include:

Jamie Carey (Horizon HS) – One of the state’s top female basketball players, Jamie Carey was the state’s 1999 Miss Colorado Basketball. She was among the state’s top playmakers and scorers during her tenure at Horizon High School, guiding her team to three state playoffs. The team finished second in 1997. She had a stellar collegiate career, playing at both Stanford and Texas and she is currently the University of Texas’ Associate Head Women’s Basketball Coach.

Katie Carter (Steamboat Springs HS) – Katie Carter is a four-year volleyball star from Steamboat Springs High School where she was a two-time Western Slope League 4A MVP, led her team to the 2002 runner-up position and was named the 4A Player of the Year. She went on to play at UCLA, earning All-America honors and helping the Bruins to a Final 4 spot. She currently plays professionally in Europe.

Pete Falletta (Pueblo School District 60) – Pete Falletta has a rich background in cross country and track & field, and served a lengthy run as athletic director at Pueblo’s Centennial High School. He is a member of the Greater Pueblo Sports Hall of Fame and was a member of numerous CHSAA committees. He also ran numerous CHSAA district, regional and state events (cross country, track, basketball, volleyball and wrestling) in Pueblo, in concert with District 60’s district athletic directors.

Andrea (Melde) Hooks (Air Academy HS) – Perhaps the best female soccer player to come from Southern Colorado, Andrea Melde voted to the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 50th Anniversary top 50 women’s soccer team. A standout at Air Academy High School, she was inducted into the Colorado Sportswomen Hall of Fame (1994) and attended Duke. She was a first team all-state player, Parade High School All-America and was selected to four other All-America teams in high school. She earned All-America honors at Duke, as well.

Ben Montoya (Fountain-Fort Carson HS) – The Fountain-Fort Carson High School cross country and track & field coach since 1986, Ben Montoya’s teams have won six state championships in boy’s track & field and finished second twice. He has 38 runners win gold medals at the state track meet. He received Coach of the Year honors from the Gazette Telegraph in 1987, 2015 and 2016, the Denver Post in 2010, the USA Track and Field 2015, and CHSAA 2011-12.

Becky (Varum) Bucolo (Cheyenne Mountain)

Perhaps one of the most dominant tennis players in Colorado history, Becky Varnum was a four-time 4A State high school No. 1 singles tennis champion, posting a 68-0 prep record. She is a 2009 member of the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame and has been recognized by Sportswomen of Colorado. Varnum played collegiately at Notre Dame.

Scott Yates (Kent Denver School) – One of the state’s top football coaches and athletic directors, Scott Yates currently ranks second all-time in football wins in Colorado. He has been at Kent Denver School for 35 years, serving as coach and athletic director.  He is a member of three halls of fame and has been named coach of the year 12 times. Yates’ teams have won three state titles and been runner-up twice in 31 playoff appearances.

Pueblo’s Friends of Football, the group that has sponsored the 2A and 3A state football championships the past two years at CSU-Pueblo, will receive the 2019 Colorado Tradition Award for their contributions to the Association.

The CHSAA staff has selected Sharon Lauer, long-time Colorado Springs athletic director and coach, as well as state swimming championship site director and member of the CHSAA Appeals Committee, to receive the Distinguished Service Award this year.

Tickets are $60 per seat or $600 per table of 10. Please contact Laikyn Cooper ( for reservations. Contact the CHSAA office with questions.