12 Colorado players will head to the NCAA College Basketball Academy next week

Cheyenne Mountain boys basketball Javonte Johnson

(Dan Mohrmann/CHSAANow.com)

A total of 12 current Colorado high school basketball players will participate in the first-ever NCAA College Basketball Academy, which is set for next week.

The developmental boys basketball academy was created by the NCAA as a result of recommendations from the Commission on College Basketball. It is "designed to give prospective student-athletes a sample of the college basketball experience," according to the NCAA.

Colorado players will head to the West regional of the Academy, held at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix. There are two sessions, July 22-25 and July 25-28.

The CHSAA office was not involved in the selection of players for this event.

Session I selections
Name High School Grad Year
Dominique Clifford Vanguard 2020
Javonte Johnson Cheyenne Mountain 2020
Caleb McGill Grandview 2020
Lucas Moerman Doherty 2020
Zion Ruckard Eaglecrest 2020
Session II selections
Name High School Grad Year
Trevor Baskin Pomona 2020
Cole Bott Valor Christian 2020
Kwaheem Brown Lincoln 2020
Graham Ike Overland 2020
Reece Johnson Rez Christian 2020
Ty Robinson Eaglecrest 2021
Treyvaughn Williams Columbine 2021