Aurora Public Schools' Mike Krueger to receive NFHS citation

(Ryan Casey/

INDIANAPOLIS — The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) will award NFHS Citations to eight high school athletic directors December 11 in Phoenix, Arizona, during luncheon festivities at the 48th annual National Athletic Directors Conference sponsored jointly by the NFHS and the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).

NFHS Citations are presented annually to outstanding athletic directors in recognition of contributions to interscholastic athletics at the local, state and national levels. State associations nominate athletic directors for NFHS Citations, and the NFHS Board of Directors approves recipients.

Among the honorees is Mike Krueger, the district athletic director of Aurora Public Schools.

Also being honored are Marc Haught, CMAA, executive director, Kansas Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association; Wendy Malich, CAA, district athletic director, Franklin Pierce School District, Tacoma, Washington; Jon Payne, CMAA, assistant principal/director of athletics, Reading (Ohio) High School; Colin Roy, CAA, athletic director, Hall-Dale High School, Farmingdale, Maine; Jamie Sheetz, CMAA, athletic director, Park City (Utah) High School; Jeffrey Sitz, CMAA, director of athletics, Lutheran High School, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and Myles Wilson, CAA, district athletic administrator for athletic facilities and operations, Spartanburg (South Carolina) School District.

Michael Krueger, CMAA

Aurora, Colorado

In just 11 years as an athletic administrator, Michael Krueger, CMAA, has become one of the most respected in the state of Colorado as the district athletic director of Aurora Public Schools.

Krueger recently finished a two-year term as the Colorado Athletic Directors Association (CADA) president after serving two years as vice-president and another two as CADA secretary. Overall, he has served on the CADA Executive Board since 2009. He presented at every CADA Annual Conference from 2009 to 2014 and currently is a Leadership Training instructor.

Krueger is equally involved with the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA), having been a voting member of its Legislative Council since 2006. He also currently serves as chair on the CHSAA Football Committee and is a member of the CHSAA Sports Medicine Advisory Committee and the Reclassification Committee.

Krueger’s service extends to the NIAAA as a member of the national teaching faculty for Leadership Training Course 710, for which he has been an instructor at four National Conferences. He has represented the state of Colorado three times in the NIAAA Delegate Assembly and has been a workshop presenter three times. In 2012-13, Krueger earned the NIAAA State Award of Merit.

Locally, Krueger was president of the Western Slope League from 2010 to 2014, and works as the Aurora Public School’s Unified Sports Program director.

In 2015-16, Krueger was honored by CADA with the Kurby Lyle Service Award and in 2011-12 was named the CADA Athletic Director of the Year. Krueger, who is an associate professor at Metro State University in Denver, recently was named to the Board of Directors for Colorado Special Olympics.