Playoff brackets out for 8-man, 1A and 2A football; Sedgwick County, Bennett, Platte Valley top seeds

Bennett football

(Ryan Casey/

AURORA — Sedgwick County, Bennett and Platte Valley head their respective playoff fields as state football brackets were unveiled in 8-man, 1A and 2A on Sunday.

Find complete brackets here:

The brackets are composed to automatic qualifiers — league champions — and then the next highest finishers in the final RPI standings of the regular season. In the case of all three brackets, the top 16 teams in the RPI all qualified for the postseason.

(Sedgwick County/NFHS Network)

Sedgwick County enters as the No. 1 seed in 8-man football following a 9-0 regular season. The Cougars are the defending champions and have actually won 19 consecutive games — most in the state along with 5A's Valor Christian.

Also hosting first-round games in 8-man are West Grand, Merino, Hoehne, Holly, Rocky Mountain Lutheran, Sargent and Springfield.

Bennett, the top seed in 1A, is also unbeaten so far this year at 9-0. The Tigers were semifinalists a year ago.

Among high seeds in 1A are Meeker, Centauri, Strasburg, Burlington, Clear Creek, Crowley County and Peyton. All will host games in the first round.

Platte Valley football also enters its postseason undefeated at 9-0. The Broncos will host D'Evelyn in the first round of the 2A playoffs.

2A's other high seeds include Kent Denver, Bayfield, La Junta, The Classical Academy, Basalt, Faith Christian and Eaton. La Junta is the defending champion.

First round games for all three classes are set for this coming weekend. Semifinals will be Nov. 18, and all three championship games for 2A, 1A and 8-man will be held on Nov. 25 at a home site of one of the finalists.