CHSAA set to begin 95th year of spring sports

(Ryan Casey/

(Ryan Casey/

AURORA – The 95th year of Colorado High School Activities Association spring sports practice begins just as the state basketball regional and state tournaments are gearing up.

Official practice starts Monday, February 29 for baseball, girls’ golf, boys’ & girls’ lacrosse, girls’ soccer, boys’ swimming, girls’ tennis and boys’ & girls’ track & field. Teams may begin interscholastic scrimmages on Saturday, March 5, while the first contests begin Thursday, March 10.

In May, 1921, a group of superintendents and principals met in Boulder and organized the Colorado High School Athletic Conference. The purpose of this organization was to better regulate and develop the interscholastic school athletic program.

There were nine leagues by the time the first constitution was published, including the Northern, North Central, Western Slope, Suburban, Southeastern, Arkansas Valley, South Central and San Juan Basin leagues.

The first champions crowned that school year were Colorado Springs in football, Greeley in basketball, and Fort Collins in track and field.

In 1924, the Colorado High School Athletic Conference joined the National Federation of State High School Associations and has remained an active member of that organization ever since.

Loveland’s R.W. Truscott was the Association’s first president and Eaton’s J.C. Casey its first secretary (commissioner). Truscott replaced Casey as secretary in December, 1926 and held that post until July, 1948 when Glenn T. Wilson became commissioner. Ray C. Ball took over the commissioner’s post in 1966 and remained in the office until August, 1986 when Ray Plutko assumed the duties. Bob Ottewill became the Association’s sixth commissioner in July, 1990, followed by Bill Reader who served as Commissioner from 2002 until 2010. Angelico assumed the reins on July 1, 2010.

The CHSAA has had 59 presidents dating back to 1921. Its current president, Boulder High School Athletic Director Eddie Hartnett, is in the first year of a two-year term as president.