CHSAA begins 93rd winter sports season

Eaglecrest celebrates winning the 2013 5A boys basketball championship. (Jack Eberhard/

Eaglecrest celebrates winning the 2013 5A boys basketball championship. (Jack Eberhard/

AURORA -- The 93rd year of Colorado High School Activities Association practice for winter sports begins just as most of the fall sports are just winding down. Official practice starts Wednesday, November 13 for basketball, wrestling, ice hockey and girls’ swimming. Please note the first day of practice and other information for Skiing on

Teams may begin interscholastic scrimmages on November 19 in these sports, while the first contests may begin on Monday, December 2.

In May, 1921, a group of superintendents and principals met in Boulder and organized the Colorado High School Athletic Conference. The purpose of this organization was to better regulate and develop the interscholastic school athletic program.

There were nine leagues by the time the first constitution was published, including the Northern, North Central, Western Slope, Suburban, Southeastern, Arkansas Valley, South Central and San Juan Basin leagues.

The first champions crowned that school year were Colorado Springs in football, Greeley in basketball, and Fort Collins in track and field.

In 1924, the Colorado High School Athletic Conference joined the National Federation of State High School Associations and has remained an active member of that organization ever since.

Loveland’s R.W. Truscott was the Association’s first president and Eaton’s J.C. Casey its first secretary (commissioner). Truscott replaced Casey as secretary in December, 1926 and held that post until July, 1948 when Glenn T. Wilson became commissioner. Ray C. Ball took over the commissioner’s post in 1966 and remained in the office until August, 1986 when Ray Plutko assumed the duties. Bob Ottewill became the Association’s sixth commissioner in July, 1990, followed by Bill Reader who served as Commissioner from 2002 until 2010. Angelico assumed the reins on July 1, 2010

The CHSAA has had 58 presidents dating back to 1921. Its current president, Centauri High School Principal Curt Wilson, is in the first year of a two-year term as president.

Defending Winter State Champions
Sport 1A 2A 3A 4A 5A First Champ*
B. Basketball McClave Denver Christian Pagosa Springs Lewis-Palmer Eaglecrest Greeley ('21)
G. Basketball Wiley Akron Holy Family Pueblo South Regis Jesuit Golden ('76)
G. Swimming - - - Thompson Vly. Regis Jesuit Cherry Crk ('74)
B. Skiing - - - - Summit Middle Prk ('65)
G. Skiing - - - - Summit Middle Prk ('75)
Ice Hockey - - - - Ralston Vly Littleton ('76)
Wrestling - Paonia Alamosa Broomfield Pomona Greeley ('36)

* - Large school champion listed.