CHSAA set to begin 93rd year in sports

Official practice begins August 5 for boys’ golf; August 12 for all others

AURORA -- The Colorado High School Activities Association and its 343 member schools open the 93rd school year with Boys’ Golf official practice on August 5. All other sports start officially on August 12. Student athletes in Cross Country, Field Hockey, Boys’ Golf, Football, Girls’ Gymnastics, Boys’ Soccer, Softball, Boys’ Tennis, Volleyball and Spirit anxiously await that starting date.

“The beginning of any new sports season practice remains one of the most exciting days in a student’s life, but the first fall practice is always a little bit more special. High school sports and that first day of practice offer each of us the chance to get back to the community-based roots that high school sports provide. Look around the state and you will see that each school is the hub of the activities in its neighborhood and community,” CHSAA Commissioner Paul Angelico said.

Teams may start scrimmages on August 8 for Boys’ Golf, August 12 for Softball, August 15 Boys’ Tennis and August 22 for the rest of the sports. The first contest for Boys’ Golf is August 8 for Boys’ Golf, August 15 for Boys’ Tennis August 16 for Softball and August 29 for all other sports. Football teams, with approval from the CHSAA Office may play a Week Zero game if certain criteria have been met.

In May, 1921, a group of superintendents and principals met in Boulder and organized the Colorado High School Athletic Conference. The purpose of this organization was to better regulate and develop the interscholastic school athletic program.

There were nine leagues by the time the first constitution was published, including the Northern, North Central, Western Slope, Suburban, Southeastern, Arkansas Valley, South Central and San Juan Basin leagues.

The first champions crowned that school year were Colorado Springs in football, Greeley in basketball, and Fort Collins in track and field.

In 1924, the Colorado High School Athletic Conference joined the National Federation of State High School Associations and has remained an active member of that organization ever since.

Loveland’s R.W. Truscott was the Association’s first president and Eaton’s J.C. Casey its first secretary (commissioner). Truscott replaced Casey as secretary in December, 1926 and held that post until July, 1948 when Glenn T. Wilson became commissioner. Ray C. Ball took over the commissioner’s post in 1966 and remained in the office until August, 1986 when Ray Plutko assumed the duties. Bob Ottewill became the Association’s sixth commissioner in July, 1990, followed by Bill Reader who served as Commissioner from 2002 until 2010. Angelico assumed the reins on July 1, 2010

The CHSAA has had 58 presidents dating back to 1921. Its current president, Centauri High School Principal Curt Wilson, is in the first year of a two-year term as president.

The Association enters the year with few changes on staff. Paul Angelico, a 25-year member of the staff, is Commissioner. Assistant Commissioners Bert Borgmann and Tom Robinson are in their 26th and 13th years on the staff, respectively. Meanwhile, Bethany Brookens and Harry Waterman are in their sixth year with the Association. Bud Ozzello enters is in his fourth year on the staff. Jenn Roberts-Uhlig is now in her second year on the staff, while Ryan Casey joins the staff as Director of Web Services this year.

Malinda Arensdorf serves as administrative assistant to Waterman, while Kim Rose (Angelico), Lisa Cunningham (Borgmann), Kenzie Hewson (Brookens), Jane Boudreau (Roberts-Uhlig), Audra Cathy (Ozzello) and Monica Tillman (Robinson) work in concert with the other administrators. Bookkeeper Donna Coonts and mail room coordinator Sharon Garcia round out the Association staff.

Defending fall state champions and first state champions

Sport First champion Defending champion(s) Class
Boys cross country Boulder (1951) Lyons 2A
University 3A
Coronado 4A
Mountain Vista 5A
Girls cross country Pueblo East (1978) Hotchkiss 2A
Holy Family 3A
The Classical Academy 4A
Monarch 5A
Field Hockey Colorado Academy (1997) Colorado Academy -
Football Colorado Springs (1921) Fleming 6-man
Hoehne 8-man
Cedaredge 1A
Kent Denver 2A
Silver Creek 3A
Monarch 4A
Valor Chrisitan 5A
Boys Golf Denver East (1947) Kent Denver 3A
Pueblo South 4A
Regis Jesuit 5A
Gymnastics Bear Creek (1974) Elizabeth 4A
Broomfield 5A
Boys soccer Cherry Creek (1975) Colorado Academy 3A
Battle Mountain 4A
Boulder 5A
Softball Boulder (1987) Strasburg 3A
Pueblo East 4A
Loveland 5A
Spirit (Cheer) Montbello (1991) Cheyenne Wells 2A
Manitou Springs 3A
Air Academy 4A
Grandview 5A
Spirit (Poms) Greeley West (1992) Vail Christian 2A
Clear Creek 3A
Evergreen 4A
Arapahoe 5A
Spirit (Co-ed) Widefield (1993) Strasburg 3A
Dakota Ridge 5A
Spirit (Jazz) Heritage (1996) Golden -
Spirit (Hip Hop) Rampart (2009) Monarch -
Boys Tennis Pueblo Central (1927) Cheyenne Mountain 4A
Cherry Creek 5A
Volleyball Mitchell (1975) Weldon Valley 1A
Lutheran 2A
Valley 3A
Cheyenne Mountain 4A
Doherty 5A

CHSAA Administrative Staff and Major Assignments

Paul Angelico, Commissioner (Classification and League Organization Committee, Board of Directors, Legislative Council, Budget, Hardship Waivers, Handbook, Personnel)

Bert Borgmann, Assistant Commissioner (Baseball, Basketball, Gymnastics, Hall of Fame, Media Relations, Legislative Relations, New Schools, Programs, State Records/Championship Results, Trophies & Awards, Foreign Waivers)

Tom Robinson, Assistant Commissioner (Golf, Officials, Officials’ Fees Committee, Sportsmanship, Sportsmanship Seminars, Officials’ Organizations)

Bethany Brookens, Assistant Commissioner (Field Hockey, Tennis, Music, Skiing, Swimming, Volleyball, Cooperative Programs, Title IX, Equity, Participation Survey)

Harry Waterman, Assistant Commissioner (Football, Wrestling, Lacrosse, Student Council, NFHS Section 6, Playoff Sites, Tournament Playoff & Finance, CADA Liaison)

Bud Ozzello, Assistant Commissioner (Softball, Soccer, Speech, Ice Hockey, Coaching Registration, Sanctioned Events, Office Manager)

Jenn Roberts-Uhlig, Assistant Commissioner (Cross Country, Spirit, Track & Field, Corporate Relations, Recognition Programs, Academic Team/All-State, Sports Medicine, Junior High/Middle Schools, New Athletic Directors Meeting)

Ryan Casey, Director of Web Services (; Technology Advancement,